In this section

Disability Support IRC

The Disability Support IRC has been established to respond to the increasing demand for disability support workers, driven in particular by the rollout of the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS).

The IRC’s work includes addressing the current and future competencies and skill requirements for new workers entering the sector and existing staff needing to upskill in the vocational education and training (VET) and sector.

The Disability Support IRC is responsible for:

  • reviewing and updating national training package qualifications, skill sets and units of competency needed by the disability support sector
  • working with other IRCs which have an interest in qualifications relevant to the disability support sector to ensure industry needs are considered and met.
  • Further information about the role of IRCs and how they will operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

    Disability Support IRC Structure

    Category Organisation or area of expertise  Member State/ Territory
    Peak bodies, associations and Government
    National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) Ms Liz Neville  VIC
    NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission Mr Abel MacDonald NSW
    Mental health To be appointed by Secretariat
    National Disability Services Mr Will Kestin TAS
    Allied Health Professional Australia (AHPA) Ms Catherine Olsson
    (Speech Pathology Australia)
    Industry/employer  Disability Services providers Ms Judy Williamson
    (Cerebral Palsy Alliance)
      Mr Benjamin Keast 
    (ARC  Disability Services)
    Rural/remote disability service provider Mr Paul Morgan
    (Goldfields Individual & Family
    Support Association (GIFSA))
    Industry, employers, peak bodies,
    Assistive technologies expertise Ms Robyn Chapman
    (Assistive Technology Australia)
    Consumer advocacy group/body Mr Ross Joyce
    (Australian Federation of Disability Organisations)
     Employee representatives Australian Services Union (ASU) Ms Jan Primrose NSW
    Health Services Union (HSU) Ms Leigh Svendsen VIC
     Total 12 members