In this section

First Aid IRC

The First Aid units of competency were first endorsed in July 2013 in the HLT Health Training Package. They were reviewed again in 2014.

Every organisation in Australia is required to ensure there are adequate First Aid services are in the workplace. People also undertake first aid training when it isn’t required for work purposes, e.g. parents. 

Hundreds of thousands of people take First Aid training every year. Most First Aiders are trained in the unit of competency HLTAID003 Provide first aid.

Every jurisdiction has its own work health and safety (WHS) act and regulations to ensure adequate First Aid services in the workplace—including elements like First Aid kits, procedures, facilities and training for First Aiders. This will also specify refresher training (usually every three years).

First Aid training requirements differ across industries as well as jurisdictions. Some industries require specific competencies. For example, in early childhood education and care, workers are required to be trained in anaphylaxis (HLTAID004 Provide an emergency first aid response in an education and care setting).

There are no VET qualifications in this sector. The following units of competency are used across almost every training package on the national register. The units are:

HLTAID001 Provide cardiopulmonary resuscitation
HLTAID002 Provide basic emergency life support
HLTAID003 Provide first aid
HLTAID004 Provide an emergency first aid response in an education and care setting
HLTAID005 Provide first aid in remote situations
HLTAID006 Provide advanced first aid
HLTAID007 Provide advanced resuscitation
HLTAID008 Manage first aid services and resources.

Links to view and download the content for each of these units of competency may be found in our Training Packages section.

First Aid IRC Industry Skills Forecasts

CLICK HERE to download the 2017 First Aid IRC Industry Skills Forecast.

CLICK HERE to download the 2018 First Aid IRC Industry Skills Forecast.